History of ABCD


ABCD was established in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in 1976 as a result of the bridge crisis in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania.  It was the intent of the original Association to establish other chapters.  Consequently, in 1978 a Northeast Region Chapter was established in the metropolitan New York City area which encompassed Connecticut, New York, and New Jersey.  In 1978 the Western New York Chapter was established in the Buffalo area.  Chapters called the Susquehanna Chapter in the Harrisburg, Pennsylvania area and the Northeast Ohio Chapter in the Cleveland, Ohio area have also been established. In 1994 the Eastern New York Chapter was formed.

As of yet, there is no national ABCD--although the Pittsburgh group has worked towards a national organization as a goal.

Eastern New York Chapter

Since 1994, this chapter has grown to approximately 130 members.  We have established a schedule of four breakfast/lunch/dinner meetings with technical presentations, an annual meeting of the membership, a summer plant tour and also a half day or full day training seminar each year.  We actively encourage participation of individuals that represent all of the different sectors of the bridge community, including:

  • Owners
  • Maintainers
  • Constructors
  • Material Suppliers
  • Designers
  • Educators

Also, anyone else interested in a forum for the exchange of ideas and information on bridges is encouraged to become a member.

We hope you will join us in this exciting organization.  Our meetings are typically attended by 40 to 80 individuals from public agencies, consultants, contractors, suppliers, and others.  Please take a few moments to complete the attached membership application.  Our memberships are for individuals only, we do not have corporate memberships.  You may send your application along with a check for the current membership fee to:

Eastern New York ABCD
c/o Mark Olstad
40 British American Blvd
Latham, New York 12110

Associate Sponsors

Barton and Loguidice, DPC
Bergmann Associates
CDM Smith
CHA Consulting, Inc.
Creighton Manning Eng., LLP
DA Collins Construction Co., Inc.
Dimension Fabricators, Inc.
Greenman-Pedersen, Inc.
McLaren Engineering Group
MJ Eng. & Land Surveying, PC
Pennoni Associates, Inc.
Piasecki Steel Construction Corp.
Ryan Biggs/Clark Davis Eng. & Surveying, DPC
STS Steel, Inc.
The Fort Miller Co., Inc.
Tioga Construction Co., Inc.

Contributing Sponsors

Christopher A. Waite, PE

Owner Agencies

NYS Department of Transportation
NYS Thruway Authority

Board Members

L. Joshua French, President
Charles Tutunjian, President Elect
Mark Olstad, Treasurer
Jack Wheeler, Secretary
Julianne Fuda
Michael Belsky
Dan Eckert
Ryan Henderson
Koby Greene
Andrea Riedman
Geoff Frazier

Latest Events

No events

Latest News